Junior Secretary Report

For the 3rd year running COVID 19 was to impact our cricket season. Metropolitan Melbourne was forced into another lock down delaying the start of the season until the weekend of 12th Nov. We decided to have a similar playing season as last year i.e., 14 home and away games, plus finals, all being one day games.

A new COVID variant, Omicron, created another wave of COVID cases, particularly after Christmas causing disruption to some games. Games that were impacted, clubs were given an option to try an reschedule games or have them abandoned. Also, during this period, the RDCA provided a lot of permits to over aged players so that games could proceed.

It was a very difficult year for clubs, as COVID was taking its toll on families who were reluctant to commit to another season to cricket. However due to all their hard yards, we were able to get 250 teams registered, the same as last year.

This season with the support of Cricket Victoria (including 50% of funding), we introduced a Coach the Coaches Program. Dale Ingleton was appointed Director of Coaching. 15 clubs joined the program by appointing a lead coach to attend 3 master classes run by Dale and CV. Also, during the season Dale visited a number of clubs to either run training sessions or observe and provide feedback. Overall, it was a great success, which we will continue next season.

Our junior girls had another great season with 5 grades. The competition was the most even it has ever been with the standard of cricket continuing to improve. Our Stage 3 grand final finished in an exciting tie.

We welcomed new girl teams from Knox Gardens, Eastfield, South Croydon, Monash-Glen Waverley, which we hope to continue to do over the next couple of years, with our goal of every RDCA club having a female team.

Our inaugural All Girls Blast competition was successful, a special thanks to Warranwood, Ainslie Park, Warrandyte and Wantirna South for their help in getting this program started and growing. We want to build on this, as we are already seeing girls ready to feed into Stage 1 teams next season.

Once again, we joined forces with Saxon Sports and with Mukti Australia (a Christian organisation for disadvantage woman and children) in sending cricket gear to Sri Lanka. Clubs and families supported us in dropping off second hand junior cricket equipment and clothing to Saxon Sports. Over 80kg of equipment was shipped over to Sri Lanka. Congratulations on the following players who won individual trophies this season:

Grade`	Batting				Bowling			
	Player	Club	Runs	Ave	Player	Club	w	Ave
						South		
GS1 Spirit	Olivia Irvine	Norwood	143	N/a	Jada Barsenbach	Croydon	11	10.9
GS1 Stars	Asmi Uniyal	Vermont	214	N/a	Isabel Wheeler	Ainslie Park	22	3
GS2 Spirit	Emer Heffernan	Warrandyte	326	108.7	Emer Heffernan	Warrandyte	13	12.3
GS2 Stars	Jasmine Enever	Chirnside Park	184	184	Zara Veal	Norwood	15	4.7
GS3	Keely Miutescu	Mt Evelyn	133	133	Ella Russell	Warranwood	13	9.1
U/12-1	Cooper Flinn	Norwood	135	135	Oliver Simkin	Heatherdale	14	5.6
U/12-2	Zane Wunhym	Seville Burras	280	70	Benjamin Hunter	Seville Burras	13	3.6
U/12-3	Ryder Ham	East Ringwood	293	97.7	Felix Edgar	Sth Croydon	19	2.2
U/12-4	Sam Peachey	Heatherdale	192	192	Charlie Frame	Warrandyte	13	3.5
U/12-5	Lachlan Morrow	Mt Evelyn	289	144.5	Harrison Duff	Healesville	10	8.8
U/12-6	Mackenzie Hanna	Heathwood	190	190	Tully Kuffer	Ainslie Park	10	4
U/12-7	Shlok Thaker	Templeton	106	106	Dheer Chaudhari	Templeton	11	7.6
U/12-8	Joshua Somerscales	Heatherdale	179	179	Archie Sedgewick	Mitcham	13	5.3
U/12-9	Jack Dowthwaite	Wandin	148	148	Tayte Hubbard	Woori Yallock	10	7.3
U/14-1	Charlie Moore	Nth Ringwood	290	290	Lucas Field	Norwood	10	7.7
U/14-2	Finlay McGrotty	Mitcham	237	237	Jace Hamilton	Seville	13	7.6
U/14-3	Sachin Thotawatta	Glen Waverley	232	116	Blake Gregson	Ainslie Park	13	7.5
U/14-4	Nathan McHugh	Laburnum	218	72.7	William Elford	Heathwood	16	6.63
U/14-5	Shantan RS	Bayswater Pk	262	131	Devron Dias	Chirnside Park	14	3.2
U/14-6	Vincent Stewart	Norwood	189	189	Liam Hessler	Heatherdale	7	7.3
U/14-7	Dylan Shambrook	Yarra Glen	187	62.3	Oliver Coghlan	Yarra Glen	10	6.8
U/16-1	Bailey O'Riley	Norwood	329	82.3	Harvey Smith	Seville	13	9.2
U/16-2	Barathan Mahadeva	Sth Croydon	174	58	Konnor Hubbard	Wonga Park	13	9.5
U/16-3	Jack Mullarvey	Warranwood	220	73.3	Tom Elford	Heathwood	20	6.5
U/16-4	Darren Dineshkumar	Glen Waverley	280	280	Adwait Pillai	Scoresby	14	7
U/16-5	Daniel Moody	Croydon Ranges	132	66	Archer Vodopier	St Andrews	10	8.9
U/16-6	Riyansh Beniwal	Heatherdale	111	111	Thomas Mummery	Vermont	9	7.9

Bill Dean Memorial Trophy Best Player Leaving U/16 – Bailey O'Riley Norwood

Di Day Best Female Player – Jayde Reidy Templeton

Andy Exley Umpire Award Cameron Clune

Best First Year Umpire Max Cron

Bill Stafford Shield Club Champion – Norwood

Jeff Luscombe Volunteer of the Year – Paul Kamphuis Warrandyte

Sean Flynn U/16 All Stars Team 2021/22				
Riley Weatherill	South Croydon			
Archie Flynn	North Ringwood			
Bailey O'Reily (C)	Norwood			
Tynan Forster	Mitcham			
Tige Ridley (K)	Ainslie Park			
Cam Livingstone	North Ringwood			
Cooper Sticht	Croydon Ranges			
Jordan Lynn	St Andrews			
Dylan Walker	Seville			
Harvey Smith	Seville			
Will Bellingham	Croydon Ranges			
Lachlan Muir	St Andrews			

Stage 3 All Stars Team 21/22					
Ava Rebeiro	Templeton				
Muthu Velmurugan	Templeton				
Maddie Coia	Warranwood				
Keely Miutescu	Mount Evelyn				
Jasime Dane (C)	Warranwood				
Jayde Reidy	Templeton				
Kamryn Disney (C)	Templeton				
Oliva Edwards	Mount Evelyn				
Ella Russell	Warranwood				
Kaitlyn Clarke	Templeton				
Zoe Vozzo	Templeton				

Congratulations to all our premiership teams:

Grade	Premiers	Grade	Premiers
U/18 T20	St Andrews	U/14-1	Heatherdale
Girls Stage 1 Spirit	Norwood	U/14-2	Seville
Girls Stage 1 Stars	Ainslie Park	U/14-3	St Andrews
Girls Stage 2 Spirit	South Belgrave	U/14-4	Warranwood
Girls Stage 2 Stars	St Andrews	U/14-5	Yarra Glen
Girls Stage 3	Tie- Templeton and Chirnside Park/Warranwood	U/14-6	Glen Waverley
U/12-1	Norwood	U/14-7	Wonga Park
U/12-2	Mitcham	U/16-1	Norwood
U/12-3	East Ringwood	U/16-2	East Ringwood
U/12-4	Heatherdale	U/16-3	Warranwood
U/12-5	Hoddles Creek	U/16-4	Glen Waverley
U/12-6	Heathwood	U/16-5	St Andrews
U/12-7	Mitcham	U/16-6	Templeton
U/12-8	Heatherdale		
U/12-9	Wandin		

To all our junior committee, Sean Flynn, Jas Harrison, Leah Parker, Luke Henderson, Sean Meehan, Doug Dowling, Cam Darwall and Steve Toohey 1 thank you for all your support you have provided

A special big thankyou to all our junior club coordinators. It has been the most challenging year but through all your efforts we have had another very successful junior season.

Bill Stafford

Junior Secretary